Gertrude Stein dans les jardins du Luxembourg
Exhibition

GERTRUDE STEIN AND PABLO PICASSO

The Invention of Language
From September 13, 2023 to January 28, 2024
Musée du Luxembourg

To mark the 50th anniversary of Picasso’s death, the Musée du Luxembourg is organizing a major exhibition on the story of an extraordinary friendship between two icons of the 20th century, Pablo Picasso and Gertrude Stein.

Gertrude Stein (1874-1946), a Jewish American immigrant, was a writer, poet and aesthete who moved to Paris in 1903 shortly after the arrival of Picasso, then a young artist. Their membership of the city's bohemian community, as well as their artistic freedom, were informed by their status as foreigners and their marginality. Their friendship crystallized around their respective work, which laid the foundations for Cubism and the pictorial and literary avant-gardes of the 20th century. Their posterity is immense.

By examining their closeness and inventiveness, the exhibition at the Musée du Luxembourg will explore a century of art, poetry, music and theater through key figures such as Henri Matisse, Juan Gris, Marcel Duchamp, Ed Ruscha, Jasper Johns, Andy Warhol, Bruce Nauman, Carl Andre, Joseph Kosuth, Roni Horn, Hanne Darboven, Glenn Ligon, John Cage, Steve Reich, Bob Wilson, Gary Hill and Philip Glass.

CURATORS
Cecile Debray, Chief Heritage Curator, President of the Musée national Picasso-Paris and Assia Quesnel, Art Historian

SCENOGRAPHY
Studio Matters

Exhibition organized by the Rmn-GP with the exceptional support of the Musée national Picasso-Paris

MENTION CHANEL

 

 

About Picasso Celebration 1973-2023

 

Pablo Picasso, l'acrobate
Pablo Picasso, « L’acrobate », 1930, Huile sur toile, 162 x 130 cm, MP120, Musée national Picasso-Paris
© RMN-Grand Palais (Musée national Picasso-Paris) / Adrien Didierjean © Succession Picasso 2023

 

April 8, 2023 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the death of Spanish artist Pablo Picasso and thus the year will represent the celebration of his work and his artistic legacy in France, Spain and internationally.

The French and Spanish governments wanted to carry out this large-scale transnational event through a binational commission, bringing together the cultural and diplomatic administrations of the two countries.

The Picasso Celebration 1973-2023 revolves around some fifty exhibitions and events that will be held in renowned cultural institutions in Europe and North America, and which together will draw up a historiographical survey of approaches to Picasso’s work. The commemoration, punctuated by official celebrations in France and Spain, will shine a light on the research and understanding of Picasso’s work, notably during a major international symposium in autumn 2023, at the time of the opening of the Center for Picasso Studies in Paris.

The Musée national Picasso-Paris and the Spanish National Commission for the commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the death of Pablo Picasso are pleased to support this exceptional program.


celebration Picasso     logo Gobierno Espana   Logo Ministère de la Culture

pictogramme

View events

pictogramme

Listen again to the lectures

pictogramme Jeu

Play online

Partners

Logo Arte
Logo RATP
Logo Parisien
Logo Transfuge
Logo Noir Fnac
Logo Insert
Logo PUblic Senat
logo France Culture
MATCH
From March, 13 to August, 11 2024
test banniere
Expo Match: ticket sales now open!

Starting on March, 13

Gertrude Stein dans les jardins du Luxembourg
Exposition

Gertrude Stein et Pablo Picasso

L'invention du langage
Du 13 septembre 2023 au 28 janvier 2024
Musée du Luxembourg

À l’occasion de la célébration du 50e anniversaire de la mort de Picasso, le Musée du Luxembourg propose une grande exposition sur l’histoire d’une amitié hors norme, entre deux icônes du XXe siècle, Pablo Picasso et Gertrude Stein.

Gertrude Stein (1874-1946), une immigrée juive américaine, à la fois écrivaine, poète et esthète, s’installe à Paris dès 1903 peu après l’arrivée de Picasso, alors jeune artiste. Leur position d’étrangers et leur marginalité fondent leur appartenance à la bohème parisienne et leur liberté artistique. Leur amitié s’est cristallisée autour de leur travail respectif, fondateur du cubisme et des avant-gardes picturales et littéraires du XXe siècle. Leur postérité est immense.

En examinant leur complicité et leur inventivité, l’exposition du Musée du Luxembourg traversera un siècle d’art, de poésie, de musique et de théâtre à travers de grandes figures telles que Henri Matisse, Juan Gris, Marcel Duchamp, Jasper Johns, Andy Warhol, Bruce Nauman, Carl Andre, Joseph Kosuth, Hanne Darboven, Glenn Ligon, John Cage, Bob Wilson, Gary Hill ou encore Philip Glass.


Pictogramme calendrier Du 18 septembre au 22 janvier, retrouvez un cycle de lectures et performances conçu par Ludovic Lagarde pour entendre l'œuvre littéraire de Gertrude Stein, chaque lundi soir au Musée avec votre billet d'exposition - hors vacances scolaires et 2 octobre !


COMMISSARIAT

Commissaire générale : Cécile Debray, Présidente du Musée national Picasso-Paris

Commissaire associée : Assia Quesnel, Historienne de l’art

SCÉNOGRAPHIE

Studio Matters

Exposition organisée par la Rmn-GP en collaboration avec le Musée national Picasso-Paris

MENTION CHANEL

 

 

 

À propos de la célébration Picasso

Pablo Picasso, l'acrobate
Pablo Picasso, « L’acrobate », 1930, Huile sur toile, 162 x 130 cm, MP120, Musée national Picasso-Paris
© RMN-Grand Palais (Musée national Picasso-Paris) / Adrien Didierjean © Succession Picasso 2023

La célébration Picasso 1973-2023

Le 8 avril 2023 marque le cinquantième anniversaire de la disparition de l’artiste espagnol Pablo Picasso et place ainsi l’année sous le signe de la célébration de son oeuvre et de son héritage artistique en France, en Espagne et à l’international.

Les gouvernements français et espagnols ont souhaité porter cet événement transnational d’ampleur à travers une commission binationale, réunissant les administrations culturelles et diplomatiques des deux pays.

La Célébration Picasso 1973-2023 s’articule autour d’une cinquantaine d’expositions et d’événements qui se tiendront dans des institutions culturelles de renom, en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, et qui ensemble dressent un état historiographique des approches de l’oeuvre de Picasso. La commémoration, rythmée par des temps de célébrations officiels en France et en Espagne, permettra de dresser un état de la recherche et de la compréhension de l’oeuvre de Picasso, notamment lors d’un grand symposium international à l’automne 2023, au moment de l’ouverture du Centre d’Études Picasso à Paris.

Le Musée national Picasso-Paris et la Commission nationale espagnole pour la commémoration du 50e anniversaire de la mort de Pablo Picasso sont heureux de soutenir ce programme exceptionnel.

Logo Picasso  logo Gobierno Espana  Logo Ministère de la Culturecelebration Picasso


 

      

pictogramme

Consulter les évènements et visites guidées

pictogramme

Réécouter les conférences

pictogramme Jeu

Jouer en ligne

Partenaires

Logo Arte
Logo RATP
Logo Parisien
Logo Transfuge
Logo Noir Fnac
Logo Insert
Logo PUblic Senat
logo France Culture
MATCH
Du 13 mars au 11 août 2024
Expo
Expo "Tarsila do Amaral. Peindre le Brésil moderne" : réservez vos places !

Dès le 9 octobre au Musée